Trying Ubuntu 11.04 with Virtualbox on 10.10

I downloaded Ubuntu 11.04 “Natty Narwhal” but I haven’t decided yet to use as my regular OS. I have some doubts about using “unity”. So the easiest way to try is installing it using Virtualbox.

My current operating system is Ubuntu 10.10 and I had Virtualbox 3.2.8 installed. I did install 11.04 but unity did not work on it even 3D acceleration was activated. I installed Virtualbox 4.0.6 by downloading from here and running default Ubuntu software package installer. Newer Virtualbox recognized my previously installed Ubuntu 11.04. I checked the box for 3D acceleration.

As I started the virtual 11.04 I did get the non-unity desktop, which I was expecting. I exited from the full screen view and I was able to see virtualbox menu. I selected “Install Guest Editions” from Device menu. Immediately I saw the CD image on the desktop.

The tricky part for me began after this point. Entering into this Virtualbox additions CD folder and running “autorun.sh” by double clicking on it did not make the unity running for me. Instead, I needed to type sudo ./VBoxLinuxAdditions.run in the terminal from the additions folder.

I restarted the virtual system and unity worked this time. Basically what I did is; installed Virtualbox 4.0.6, enabled 3d acceleration and installed Virtualbox additions correctly. I hope this works for you too.

3 Responses to “Trying Ubuntu 11.04 with Virtualbox on 10.10”

  1. Tobias Mann Says:

    You have more than enough Memory Set Aside for Ubuntu to run cleanly. I would really recommend that you drop it down to 64MBs to prevent system stress. Nice blog.

    IDK about the theme but who knows it might not be perminant yet.

    Anyway maybe you you’d want to take a look at my blog and my experiences?

    freedupthoughts.wordpress.com

    • parsek Says:

      Thank you. I’ll reduce the graphics memory. It was left high when I was trying to get unity working. I’ll read your review about the Natty Narwhal.

Leave a Reply

